WIRW| Second Attempt

Welcome to What I Read Wednesday!

The chosen book(s) to be reviewed are as follows: Second Son by Jenelle Leanne Schmidt & The Glory of Christ by John Owen. I am super excited to share these reviews today. So let’s get started!

 

Second Son

By Jenelle Leanne Schmidt

The Minstrel’s Song Book # 2

My Rating- 5 stars

ss

 

Genre: Fantasy Fiction

I’ll just start with the synopsis included generally where this book is listed.

In an attempt to manipulate the future, a family and a nation are forced to decide between two brothers. Guided by a prophecy spoken hundreds of years before, the King and Queen of Llycaelon have set their course. Their goal: to fulfill the prophecy and save their nation from a dire fate.

Rhoyan has always understood and accepted his own role as second born and perpetual prince. He looks forward to the day when he will be a warrior in his older brother’s guard. When Rhoyan is sent on a quest filled with unimaginable danger, nobody anticipates the greater repercussions.

As Rhoyan journeys far across the seas on his appointed trial, he will battle creatures of legend, suffer shipwreck, endure captivity, and lay claim to a fallen star. When tragedy strikes, Rhoyan must struggle to return home believing his quest has failed. However,  the home he left no longer awaits him and the true test of his strength and character has only just begun.

Long before Aom-igh needed a champion, Llycaelon had a Second Son.

 

*This book was free on Kindle on Amazon.com. I was excited to get it…and very pleased with what I read.

*This book is exactly what I personally like in a fantasy fiction book. Nice blend of magic, mystical creatures, sibling love/rivalry, and family.

*It’s also a clean read! YAY!!!! (When I say clean, I mean clean. No language, explicit content, suggestions of explicit content, or anything in that realm.) There IS magic. I like magic, but I know there are people out there who aren’t going for that. But seriously, it’s fantasy fiction.)

My Praise:

  • The book was exciting and suspenseful, making me want to know what happens to Rhoyen and Ky.
  • The author does a great job switching from Rhoyen to Ky (although it is written primarily form Rhoyen’s perspective) and giving you their feelings.
  • At many moments, I felt for both Rhoyen and Ky, although I got mad at both of them at various times as well. If the author is able to make you LIVE with the characters (or better yet, BE the characters!)–they are probably a good writer.
  • I got themes that could be hinting at Biblical thinking. For example: they have someone who is the deity in the story. But there are no references to other gods…and so I naturally concluded given the information…that they only have one God. The fact that the author is a Christian could have something to do with it 🙂 !

My Critique/Complaints:

(this particular story has more complaining from a heartbroken reader than any real critique.) 🙂 😦
  •  At first there was a lot of brotherly love…then my heart broke as you watched the distance come between the brothers’ relationship. WAAAAAA!!!!!
  • I was slightly upset at Rhoyen for the rare moments when he let his temper show. Although, I guess it’s good that he was actually a real person with real faults.
  • OKAY. I’ll just admit it! When I love a book it’s hard for me to critique it. I’m having trouble finding anything wrong with this book. I liked it too much. 

 

Yes, buy this book. I think it’s still free (on Kindle) and up for grabs right now on Amazon– but you’d have to check. Just to conclude:

Great book, characters, engaging plot, suspenseful buildup, 5 STARS.

 

The Glory of Christ

A Puritan Paperback

By John Owen

My Rating- 5 stars

goc

*Unless you think it’s sacrilegious to write in a book, I would recommend highlighting your favorite quotes. There are a lot that I think you’ll find worth re-reading.

Owen is a master of reformed theology. But forget that bit of controversial lingo…Owen is a Bible-believing Christian! When people say things about the reformed like: “Oh, so you’re the frozen chosen, huh?” “You’re the people that believe I’m going to hell if I don’t believe what you believe…” and the list goes on and on. Now let me ask you a question: Do you believe the Bible? If you are a Christian, you must answer ‘yes’ to that question. Why? Because the Bible is the inerrant, infallible, inspired Word of God. And if you don’t believe what God’s Word says, you don’t believe God. Another question: Do you believe the Bible makes mistakes or is contradictory? If you are a Christian, you must answer ‘No’ to that question. Because YOUR FAITH, what you claim to believe is/ must be grounded on the Bible alone. Sola Scripture– Scripture ALONE. If it’s not, your faith crumbles to the ground. You are made a laughingstock to the nations. (Okay, so people already laugh at you for being a Christian, but if your faith is full of holes and inconsistencies– that’s all the worse! We are supposed to be ready to give an answer for the hope that lies within us.).

Sorry for that trailing off. In short, (nods to John Calvin AGAIN:) ) Owen believes the Bible, and has been very helpful in expounding Christ’s glory.

Praise:

  • Rich in theme and content.
  • Abridged and made easy to read by R.J.K Law. *Nod to those who are a little scared of reading Owen unabridged and in his old style of writing*. (Including myself!)
  • In the Bible the subject of God’s glory is a huge one! Moses says: “Show me your glory.”. Apparently, even HE wanted to know. The Bible makes it clear that to behold the Son (and His glory) is to behold the Father (and His glory).

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. ~John 14:6, ESV. (Emphasis my own)

Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is enough for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works.  Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, or else believe on account of the works themselves. ~John 14:8-11, ESV. (emphasis my own, my PRECIOUS. 🙂 )

 

  • Favoritest Quote from the book that comes to mind:

“Only a sight of His (Christ’s) glory, and nothing else, will truly satisfy God’s people. The hearts of believers are like a magnetized needle which cannot rest until it is pointing north. So also, a believer, magnetized by the love of Christ, will always be restless until he or she comes to Christ and beholds His glory.”~ the Glory of Christ, By John Owen, Pg. 2.

Yes, it’s a simple quote. But sometimes simple is what we really need to get the point across!

Our church is studying this in what we call our ‘Covenant Discipleship Hour’. We are almost done… and it has been such a blessing! One thing that helps me is to jot down whatever really sticks in my mind– so that I won’t soon forget it.

 

Yes, I would recommend this book. Read it, and be filled with Christ’s glory–and thus the Father’s as well.

 

~Emmaline

Leave a Reply

