A Look Back at 2012

http___themistymountain.wordpress.com
Drawn freehand, sometime in 2012.

 To me it’s crazy how I went from nothing to something.

That quote pretty much describes how I feel regarding my drawing skills about four years ago. You know that mostly describes how I feel about my twelve-year-old self all the way. All the things that I have gone through have made me stronger and developed me–and I feel that I have grown more and more into the person that I am made to be. A good deal of the process has been less-than-fun and sometimes, downright painful for me. I am always watching my pride get donked on the head (with a hammer, naturally 🙂 ) and my self-esteem going down. But the point is not what makes ME feel good about myself. It’s about giving honor and glory to God. God doesn’t honor those who honor themselves–a fact which I continue to learn (because I never truly get the point).

One’s pride will bring him low, but he who is lowly in spirit will obtain honor. ~Proverbs 29:23, ESV.

For if anyone thinks he is something, when he is nothing, he deceives himself. ~Galatians 6:3, ESV.

Thus says the LORD: “Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom, let not the mighty man boast in his might, let not the rich man boast in his riches, but let him who boasts boast in this, that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth. For in these things I delight, declares the LORD.” ~Jeremiah 9:23-24, ESV.

The picture is a likeness I drew off of my cousin Steven’s baby portrait. I just kinda’ looked at it and that’s what came out of it. In some ways I think if I were to try just looking at something and drawing it…I might come out with something more realistic than that photo. I do not like looking at old drawings very much because they remind me of how awful I was at it. But I suppose it’s good to look at old drawings so I can see that I have gotten better. I remember being frustrated from ages 12-14 because I had hit a block in my drawing skills. I wasn’t getting any better. In 2014, I started art class–which proved to be the best thing that happened to my drawing life. 🙂 I take art in a class with nine other students. I am taught by a lady who used to teach art at Tennessee Tech University–and I have been very blessed by her. If you are at a road block in your drawing skills–I would recommend looking for an art teacher. I saw almost immediate results. And I don’t think it had anything to do with me either. I think it was the instruction. I can’t take credit for the removal of the road block. Here’s my very first drawing from art class–drawn early 2014:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
First art class drawing. BTW the date on the photo isn’t an accurate date. That’s just the day I actually took a photo of the drawing 🙂 . It was actually drawn in Jan. of 2014.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What I drew on my own (at home) after a few months of art class.

 

 

~Emmaline

Leave a Reply

