Posted in Book Reviews, WIRW

WIRW # 4.

Welcome once again to another installment of What I Read Wednesday!

What -say you, are the chosen reviews for today? The first The Spinner and the Slipper is by Camryn Lockhart. The other book I’m reviewing is Augustine’s Confessions. Here we go!

 

The Spinner and the Slipper

By Camryn Lockhart

My rating- 5 stars

tsats-wrap-around
Wraparound cover found here

 

Genre: Fantasy fiction

This retelling had me gripped from the start. Mainly because I was curious to see how Camryn would weave Cinderella and Rumpelstiltskin together. The synopsis for the book has been provided this time. Look at the wraparound cover!

My Thoughts…

// It was an interesting twist on the two fairy tales.

// It was an enjoyable, well written book.

// The characters were interesting, and I love Eliana’s confusion at one part of the book.

// The increase of tension got at me, and made me want to know how it would end.

// The romance was interesting, and unexpected.

//The inclusion of fey in this story made for some interesting developments.

*I read this book in one sitting. I do that when I can’t put the book down. 🙂

Augustine’s Confessions

by Augustine of Hippo

A new translation by Henry Chadwick

My rating 4.5 stars

ac

*It is important to realize that this book is pretty much Augustine of Hippo’s autobiography. It is full of his musings and personal feelings/struggles.

My thoughts…

// While not the easiest read ever, it is profitable.

// I found Augustine’s struggles with different heresies to be both interesting and informative.

// Hint: You may need to skip over certain parts/ reread them if they confuse you. I skim-read certain portions because I got a leetle bit confuzzled at times.

// All-in-all Augustine’s confessions are confessions to God of his sins- you really get to see Augustine’s heart before God.

// It’s pretty crazy/amazing that he could remember so fully, so many of his sins– and confess them. I mean it’s hard enough to confess to others–but to thousands of readers? (yeah, I know he’s dead.) He had God-given courage.

// Discretion: I think that because of certain of Augustine’s sins…that I might only recommend this to maturer readers. I don’t think that younger readers would survive long reading it anyways, they’d probably get too confused.

// I would never have picked up Augustine’s Confessions on my own. So I am thankful that I had to read it for my Gileskirk Christendom (humanities, history, etc.) course.

NOTE: I don’t know if there is an easier translation or not. I suppose this translation might be as easy as it gets.

What books haven’t you been able to put down of late?

What books have been difficult for you to read?

What books have challenged you?

What are y’all reading right now?

~Emmaline

 

 

 

 

Author:

Hi! I am interested in doing art to give glory to God. I love to draw, write, and am hoping to become a professional photographer in the future. Thank you for your interest. Blessings, ~Emmaline

3 thoughts on “WIRW # 4.

Leave a Reply

