Posted in Book Reviews

Chosen Daughters Series

Hello!

I am reviewing a book series today. They’re not about the same person. Rather, they’re about 5 different women. So what is this book series that I am reviewing?… Enter the Chosen Daughters series! I will mention the authors on the spot where I always put the author.

Chosen Daughters Series

By Hope Marston, Ethel Herr, Simonetta Carr,

& Christine Farenhorst

My Rating- (Individual ratings will be given in review)

Genre– Historical Fiction (based on the lives of real young women in history)

chosendaughters

 

  • The first book in this series that I ever read was Wings Like a Dove by Christine Farenhorst. That was so enjoyable to me–that it was quickly followed by A Cup of Cold Water which is the other one written by her in this series.
  • I’m going to review the books in the order that I originally read them in.
  • Publisher: P&R http://www.prpbooks.com/authors/christine-farenhorst

 

WINGS LIKE A DOVE
by Christine Farenhorst

My Rating-5 stars

 

* This is a quick review–it’s only going to give a few little tidbit thoughts.

LOVE…

  1. The story of Queen Jeanne D’ Albret. And though it’s tragic in content…it brings across an important message.
  2. This story shows that believing the gospel can and very well just might turn our lives upside down. This story reminded me not to get too comfortable in my American security.
  3. That it shows me: If we are going to follow Christ we must be willing and ready to lay down our lives for the love of Christ and His Word. And to give up everything!

 

SO MAD/SAD…

  1. If you are familiar with the story of Jeanne D’ Albret of Navarre…then you can guess what the ending of this story is. It’s sad. But it’s also triumphant–so this is just me complaining about non-important things again 🙂 .
  2. At the fickleness/foolishness of Antoine D’ Bourbon (prince of the blood). It just shows what happens when your heart is set on pleasing people.

No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.” ~Matthew 6:24, ESV, Emphasis my own.

 

 

A CUP OF COLD WATER
by Christine Farenhorst

My Rating- 5 stars

*Another quickie. Sorry, it deserves more!

LOVE…

  1. Louisa Cavell’s Story. From little girl to a nurse in Belgium…she became a woman dedicated to prayer and a life of faith.
  2. Her Compassion. The way she took in both enemy soldiers and those she rooted for–she really showed her commitment to obeying God and extending a ‘cup of cold water’ in the name of Jesus.

 

“For truly, I say to you, whoever gives you a cup of water to drink because you belong to Christ will by no means lose his reward.”~ Mark 9:11, ESV.

 

MAD/SAD…

  1. Just a tip. If you’re looking for Joel Osteen’s ‘Your Best Life Now’ (terrible book, btw. Completely contradictory to the Bible.)–story with a happy ending, I would NOT read this book series. Most of them don’t end happily (from one viewpoint)–unless we look at it from the angle of their commitment to Christ and His sustaining power in them. And the legacy they left behind, of course.
  2. I’m Not the Crying Type. No matter the book I can’t really cry. But who knows, you might?

 

WEIGHT OF A FLAME
by Simonetta Carr

My Rating- 4.5 stars

*I enjoyed this book, but I didn’t find it quite as exciting.

  1. It had a slow beginning. I got a little more prone to boredom reading this book’s beginning.
  2. It didn’t have the same spirit as the other two. It was sad, yes. But I didn’t quite connect with it as well. (no clue why)

 

SO I LIKED…

  1. The main character. I found her life to be fascinating. Olympia Fulvia Morata–was a remarkable woman in many ways. Intelligent, kind, and brave. I think the book did a pretty good job portraying her (although I obviously wasn’t around when she was alive).
  2. Her story. The family-friendly nature of the book (although the entire series is fairly family-friendly. I would recommend the series for ages 12+.)

 

 

AGAINST THE TIDE
by Hope Irvin Marston

My Rating- 3 stars

*I love the time period of the book (Scottish covenanters) but I’m not quite so big on this particular book

WHAT I LIKED…

  1. The main character. I find I generally like the characters they choose for their books.
  2. The setting. Very few people dislike the idea of a story set in Scotland.

BUT IN THE END…

  1. I got annoyed. I was not liking some of the views expressed by Margaret (the main character).
  2. I was NOT liking the few kisses in the book. They were done with no commitment, and Margaret Wilson was not known to have a boyfriend.
  3. All-in-all I didn’t find the book to be terribly accurate. Although I did find it to lay out the main events in her life and make them interesting.

I’m not going to give a review on Dr. Oma due to length of this post. But I give it 3 stars because it wasn’t quite as interesting as the others. And it confused me a leetle tinsy weensy bit. 🙂

~Emmaline

Author:

Hi! I am interested in doing art to give glory to God. I love to draw, write, and am hoping to become a professional photographer in the future. Thank you for your interest. Blessings, ~Emmaline

Leave a Reply

