WIRW #5.

Hello!

At the suggestion of a friend and reader, I am going to do another installment of What I Read Wednesday! I have chosen to review some books I just recently read. Where Hope Prevails by Janette Oke & Laurel Oke Logan, and Till We Have Faces by C.S Lewis.

Just a little background on the chosen books. Where Hope Prevails is the 3rd book in the Return to the Canadian West series. So, if you’re thinking on getting the book, you might just want to purchase the other two first :). Till We Have Faces, on the other hand–is a retelling of the ancient myth of Cupid and Psyche. It’s the kind of book you would expect to be assigned for some mythology reading. Weird me…I bought it as an interesting read. I had read it once before at a dear friend’s house–and found it fascinatingly strange. I don’t think I really understood it the first time I read it, because frankly- it’s a bizarre read. And so when I found the book for the lovely price of $2.00, I determined to give the book another try. And here we are!

 

Where Hope Prevails

By Janette Oke & Laurel Oke Logan

Return to the Canadian West Book # 3.

My rating- 4.5 stars

where-hope-prevails

Because this book is part of a series that I haven’t reviewed…I will provide the synopsis.

She leans forward for her first glimpse of the little mountain town that has captured her heart, but something has changed.

Elizabeth Thatcher’s highly anticipated return to her beloved Coal Valley after a long summer with her family back east is filled with surprises . . . and not all of them good ones, in her estimation. Maybe the worst one of all relates to her treasured students. Can she adapt and learn to cope with this enormous change?

Her Mountie, Jarrick Thornton, hasn’t yet proposed, but she already knows what her answer will be. His duties take him away from the valley much too often, in her view, but the two of them, with patience and understanding–and one significant misunderstanding–are learning to know each other better.

The dark cloud looming on the horizon in Beth’s mind, though, is filled with questions about where their future might take them. As a member of the RCMP, Jarrick is stationed wherever his superiors send him . . . but what about her teaching position in Coal Valley?

Beth attempts to do her best with each obstacle she faces, but does she rightly assess each situation as it surfaces? Good intentions don’t always lead too good results. . . .

A companion story to Hallmark Channel’s When Calls the Heart TV series

 

This synopsis is found here.

So…uh. That’s the synopsis, but I gotta’ admit…it slightly ruins the other two books. Not hugely (it’s not my fault if their synopsis ruins it!)– but just enough.

I’ll just give some quick thoughts on the book…

Pluses and Minuses…

//The return to Coal Valley was anticipated, and I thought it was a good thing.

//I was surprised at the little things that bothered Beth. Hmm…I still haven’t figured out why she was so upset at the stumps?

//I did find the challenges to be exciting. I think they enhanced the plot.

//The conflict between Beth and Harris Hughes–was frustrating. But I think it was frustrating in a good way. It made me wonder how it would all ‘end’ (it’s not quite over yet…another book must be in the works!).

//Julie…yeah. I like it whenever she enters the story. Mind you, she’s not very wise–but sometimes you just need a slightly frivolous character. And she’s gotten better over time, too.

//The romance aspect. So, I’m TRYING not to give anything away. Although please note that the synopsis is the culprit this time. This book picks up where the last one left off. I think that it was a good idea to show the confusion that occurs during their relationship. It’s good to throw in a little misunderstanding every now and then.

*

So that’s my very-basic-opinion of the book.

Till We Have Faces

A Myth Retold

By C.S Lewis

My Rating- 5 stars

IMG_1817.JPG
I thought I might just take a picture of MY copy of the book for once. And as you can see, it contains the lovely $2.00 sticker :). 

Pluses and Minuses…

//To be completely honest, the first time I read this–I just didn’t understand it. I would recommend brushing up on your mythology a wee bit before tackling this book.

//I really have NO idea why I like this book exactly. It’s a very interesting story though.

//At first you feel, (along with the main character Orual) that Orual is wronged. That it’s Orual who’s wrong. Then later, well…something just happens. You’ll have to read it, because I really can’t quite explain it.

//I’m sorry…for some reason I just enjoy reading it.

//Age sensitive material..there are some references to some things in here which requires some discretion. I think I would probably set the book depending on maturity. But I guess maybe as rule of thumb ages 13+?

//But one thing that super annoyed me…was the false god aspect. Ungit, Cupid, etc. But hey! It’s a book on mythology. So duh. That’s obviously what I signed up for. 🙂

//I’m not a Lewis geek. I do love this book and the Chronicles of Narnia though.

 

Well, there ya’ go! Please feel free to comment if you happen to have read either of these books and want to share your thought(s) on them.

*

 

Have you read either of these books?

Do you enjoy reading mythology, or are you going *blech* right now?

Are you familiar with Janette Oke books?

What do you think of C.S Lewis? 

Have you read any of C.S Lewis’s other books?

 

~Emmaline

Leave a Reply

