El Bokeh Wall & Reflectors

Another photography post!

Yay…right. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So this morning I was looking at photography tips. (I kinda’ make a practice of looking at stuff in that field, because I don’t have any classes so anything I know is pretty much internet gained knowledge.) And I stumbled on two posts. One was talking about light reflectors, and the other was talking about El Bokeh Walls. Both posts were diy posts and both posts used aluminum or tin foil. I was intrigued. Ever since my good friend, S, posted a photo that she took using light reflectors…I suddenly wanted some. I looked and found these. I still want them, but I figure that I ought to go with the cheaper alternative. So I have. But first, I’m going to show you setup #1’s transformation. I decided to make a photography mini studio…so I did.

studio_before.jpg
I decided to give you the extra messy before photo…to make things more dramatic, y’know. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

studio_after.jpg
Ignore the cluttered rest of the room (one thing at a time!), just focus on the table. Also notice that the room’s lighting got magically better ๐Ÿ™‚ . And when I say the table, I don’t mean the cluttered-with-books side of the table. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

studio_minisetup.jpg
And here’s my mini-studio setup. It’s pretty much all tin foil and cardboard. Notice the subject of the photo…my brother’s piggy basketball bank. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Now maybe you’re wondering what the result of the diy reflectors and El bokeh wall actually is. It works! I don’t get the beautiful fat, colored bokeh lights that she shows you in the bokeh tutorial…but I suspect that’s because all I have is my little canon powershot ELPH 150 IS…and I don’t have a large aperture lens, speedlight, or colored gels. ๐Ÿ™‚ But as always, I work with what I can get. So whatย doย the photos I took look like? Oh okay…I’ll show you.

 

mod podge.jpg
This is one of the very earliest photos taken. There was no flash used in this picture. This picture was taken using macro mode. I think the bokehs look like glitter or sparkles. Really all the photos you’ll see seem to me to be ‘indoor bokehs’. All my reflectors were in use in this picture (notice that the ‘ground’ is actually a reflector). ย 
inkwellbokeh.jpg
This photo is where the big changes occur. I used flash (wish I hadn’t). The picture is a good deal darker…although the bokehs ARE well pronounced. All the reflectors were in use, I think it got too bright with that flash ๐Ÿ™‚ .ย 
inkbokeh
And this one’s the same setting as the previous one. I don’t like the lighting (due to the flash again) but I like the bokeh wall. This image is also more cluttered to the right side of the photo.ย 

Now I’m going to show you the difference when there aren’t any reflectors. I will use my brother’s piggy bank as a model. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

no reflectors.jpg
No reflectors (unless you count the bokeh wall ๐Ÿ™‚ ).ย 
bottom reflector.jpg
This one has only the bottom reflector.
all my reflectors.jpg
And finally–this picture has all of my homemade reflectors. One at the bottom, to the left, to the right, and the bokeh wall (if that counts).

 

So maybe someday I’ll actually have the traditional mini studio white sheet look? I don’t know. I think that the bokeh wall reflector thing will be good for my etsy product photos. Maybe this trick will come in handy after all, who knows?

 

Any of you ever tried this bokeh thing/ reflectors? (if you have a wide aperture lens, I think you could really make this technique a whole lot nicer)

What are your thoughts on indoor photography?

Do you ever use light reflectors?

 

~Emmaline

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “El Bokeh Wall & Reflectors

  1. That tin foil bokeh trick looks cool! I should try it. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Indoor photography can be hard! ;P I think I’ve gotten much better at it though… but I don’t think I’ve ever used light reflectors.

    1. Yeah, you should! I’d be interested to see how your camera would handle the background. I think it should work better than mine did ๐Ÿ™‚ I only just heard about light reflectors, but in the photos I’ve seen–they really make a big difference.

Leave a Reply

