Posted in Faith and Controversial Topics, reading

My To-Read Bookshelf

Hello!

Ever wondered how I decide which book is the next in my ‘reading’ list? Well…you’ve come to the right place. Many people call this kind of a post ‘what’s on my bookshelf’. But I’ll just call it ‘My To-Read Bookshelf’. Most of the books on this shelf are books that I have recently bought and am planning to read. But I admitted to myself…that I need a shelf and a schedule for these books. The shelf part’s down…but the schedule? To be determined.

IMG_0001 (2).jpg

The books to the left are ones that I’m already reading. And I’m reading them…

…V E R Y  S L O W L Y.

I can see the need for a coordinated schedule. Because, I really am spreading myself too thin. I need that schedule and then I need to write more in my reading journal so that I can better process my thoughts. There are various factors to consider in constructing a reading schedule. Here’s a little list:

  1. How many books per month? I think one is a good starting place 🙂
  2. Which ones are good for devotions? Several of the books I don’t want on the actual schedule. Some are more devotional than others. I’m thinking specifically of the 365 Days with Calvin book. I’m starting that for my devotions (Deo Volente) in January 2017.
  3. Are there other books that I’ll have as required reading for school? Um-yes. I get a new one monthly because I do Gileskirk by Dr. George Grant. So far I’ve done reviews on Augustine’s Confessions and Beowulf. But I know for sure there are more books. And I have the occasional review to do from Bethany House, as well.

 

The List…

//Pilgrim Theology, by Michael Horton

Status: Reading (not actively)

//The Peacemaker, by Ken Sande

Status: Reading (not actively)

//The Christ-Centered Preaching of Dr, Martyn Lloyd Jones, by  Martyn Lloyd Jones 🙂

Status: Reading (not actively)

// Ann Judson Missionary Wife, by Arabella Stuart

Status: Reading (half-way through, but not actively)

// Katharine Parr, by Brandon G. Withrow

Status: Reading (almost done)

// When People are BIG and God is Small, by Edward T. Welch

Status: Reading (almost done)

//Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte

Status: Reading (almost done)

//The Door in the Wall, by Marguerite DE Angeli

Status: Reading (not actively, but almost done)

//The Glory of Christ, by John Owen (why is this on the shelf? I am re-reading the later portion of the book 🙂 )

Status: Read. (re-reading later portion)

//Communion With God, by John Owen

// The Piety of John Calvin, translated and edited by Ford Lewis Battles

Status: Reading snippets. (parts of book being read, but not the entirety all through)

 

The ones I am not reading yet…

// The Doctrine of Repentance, by Thomas Watson

// The Heart of Christ, by Thomas Goodwin

// The Lord’s Supper, by Thomas Watson

// The Holy Spirit, by John Owen

// The Mystery of Providence, by John Flavel

// The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment, by Jeremiah Burroughs

// C.H Spurgeon’s Prayers, by Charles Haddon Spurgeon 🙂

// All of Grace, by Charles Haddon Spurgeon

// To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

// The Resolutions of Jonathan Edwards, by Jonathan Edwards 🙂

// Calvin & Culture, edited by Hall and Padgett

// 365 Days with Calvin, selected and edited by Joel R. Beeke

 

*Note: there are other titles on my kindle which are on my reading list as well.

 

What are YOU reading right now?

Have you read any or all of the titles listed?

What book(s) would you recommend?

 

~Emmaline

 

Author:

Hi! I am interested in doing art to give glory to God. I love to draw, write, and am hoping to become a professional photographer in the future. Thank you for your interest. Blessings, ~Emmaline

Leave a Reply

