WIRW #6.

Okay!

It’s time for another installment of What I Read Wednesday ! We are on #6. Today I will be reviewing Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte– and Grow in Grace by Sinclair B. Ferguson.

Wuthering Heights

by Emily Bronte

Apple Classics (scholastic)

My rating- 3.5 stars

 

PB160050 (1).JPG

 

This is one of the most interesting, disturbing, and depressing books I have ever read. It all started at the dentist’s office. The lady who was cleaning my teeth was asking questions about books (why those people ask you questions when your mouth is full of water is beyond me 🙂 ) and mentioned having to read Wuthering Heights in high school when she was a girl. I had heard of Wuthering Heights before, but had never read it. After the dentist, mom and I went (of all places) to the BOOK STORE. It was just a little bitty store…but what did I see on the shelf? You guessed it–this book.

My thoughts…

// This is a tragedy, but not the tragedy it’s advertised to be. Supposedly, this is a romantic tragedy where two people who are in love are ‘cruelly’ torn asunder. But…the real tragedy is definitely the sin displayed in the book.

// Heathcliff. I am sorry, y’all–Heathcliff is simply not a likable character. End of story. 🙂 His mean temperament, his selfishness, his cruelty. Ugh. He’s not a night-in-shining-armor.

// The only characters I like are minor. Yep. If that tells you anything about the characters…they’re not a nice lot.

//The depressing worldview. The whole romance is just…ohhhhhhhhhhhh nooooo. 😦

//The slow beginning. Need we day any more?

//But it was interesting. Despite all my other points…it WAS interesting. I didn’t stop reading it but instead persevered despite it’s depressingness and slow beginning. I would definitely  suggest an age start. Probably be a teen before you read it. It’s sort of morbidly depressingly dark.

 

Grow In Grace

By Sinclair B. Ferguson

My rating- 5 stars

gig

 

This is the book that I was given shortly after professing my faith publicly. I liked the book then and I still like it now. Sinclair Ferguson is very good at practically applying things and making them simple (yes, he can probably make them complicated too 🙂 ) without dumbing them down.

Some bullet thoughts…

// Good for younger ages. I think the first time I ever read this was when I was twelve. It’s really a great book for (almost) all ages.

//Using Bible characters. I love how the book uses Bible ‘heroes’ as examples. Although it’d important to note that they were used by God and not ‘heroes’ in and of themselves. My favorite chapter is on Jesus 🙂 .

//Straightforward and clear. ‘Nough said.

//Great book on the topic for new believers. I would highly recommend this book for new believers or younger olders (age range 12 and up).

 

___________________________________________________________________

 

Have you ever read books on the topic of ‘growth in grace’?

Have you read either of these books?

What’s the most depressing book you’ve ever read?

 

~Emmaline

 

2 thoughts on “WIRW #6.

  1. I have never read growing in grace. You made me want to read it! The most depressing book I read was 1984. I would never read that without an adult. It was EXTREMELY disturbing!!!

Leave a Reply

