My Coat of Arms History Project

Hey guys!

I have mentioned before that I am taking a history/humanities course for high school with a group of friends. Today I am just going to spend some time sharing our most recent project with y’all. We were instructed to make a coat of arms on the theme of our family in the past, the present, and our vision for our family in the future. We are also supposed to make a paper explaining why we chose the symbols we did for the coat of arms. I will be sharing a picture of my finished coat of arms project and I’ll add a copy of the paper to explain it.

 

❤ My Coat of Arms Project Paper ❤

My Family: Past, Present, and Future

My coat of arms is based loosely on the Sauer coat of arms- and primarily on my imagination.

Past~ My crest displays my family’s past with four of the symbols shown: The Italian flag, the German flag, the lion, and the capital letter ‘F’. The Italian flag symbolizes the Figura family as having Italian roots and our immigration from Italy to the US. The German flag- the name ‘Sauer’ has German roots. The name literally means ‘a man who is a sawyer (cut wood to sell)’. 🙂 The Lion is the central item in the ‘Sauer’ family crest. The lion symbolizes royalty, valor, and strength. The lion is also known for having Biblical significance (Lion of Judah, Christ.). The letter ‘F’ is simply supposed to help to identify my family name.

Present~ Let’s start with the shield division I chose. The red cross symbolizes faith and protection. Protection can be anything from God’s constant protection of His children to a father’s protection of his children. Or parents teaching their children and protecting them from worldly influences. Quinque Solas is a latin phrase which means ‘the five solas’. While is not even close to a summary of what my family believes- it does give a foundation for justification- one of the most crucial doctrines fought for during the reformation. Cave, Cave, Deus Videt– is a latin phrase which is and was popular especially in the middle ages. It means ‘Beware, beware, God sees!’. This is a warning to all Christians and all people in general. It is especially aimed at our practical atheism. When we want to sin, we pretend in our hearts that God isn’t there- that He doesn’t see. But God will not wink at sin- thus the warning.

Future~ My vision for my family in the future can be summarized in one word: ‘triumph’. The victory over sin that Christ has won for us. Now I will explain the five remaining symbols on my crest. The color of my shield in old heraldry stood for freedom, beauty, joy, health and hope, and loyalty in love. I pray that in the future my family will be forever loyal to God and each other. The anchor is placed strategically in the center of my crest, as I wanted it’s prominence to be obvious. It symbolizes salvation, hope, and religious steadfastness. I have a vision that by God’s grace- that my family will be steadfast in their faith and not be swayed by heresy. I pray they will never lose the hope that they have as Christians. The apple is to display God’s goodness, the peace we have in Christ, and once again- salvation (seeing a pattern here? 🙂 ). Lastly- the acorn and the crown. The acorn means independence and strength. The crown is tucked under the shoulder of the lion (the lion represents Jesus Christ, as I said earlier.) to show that it belongs to Him. The crown is literally known as the ‘heavenly crown’. Other meanings include: ‘a symbol of victory’, ‘sovereignty and empire’.  To summarize that for you- “GOD RULES AND REIGNS!”.

“Saying with a loud voice, “Worthy is the Lamb who was slain, to receive power and wealth and wisdom and might and honor and glory and blessing!” “

~Revelation 5:12

Soli Deo Gloria!

END OF PAPER

This was a fun project and I recommend it. It’s a lot of fun to track down history and to create your own crest. I loved it because you can technically count it for an art credit too 🙂 .

Have you ever done something like this?

Have you ever made a family tree?

What do you think of my drawings on the crest 😉 ?

~Emmaline

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Coat of Arms History Project

Leave a Reply

