Posted in Faith and Controversial Topics, Thoughtful

Thoughtful| “Children”

IMG_3917.JPG

Hey there!

Welcome to my second installment of Thoughtful. The title of this is on children. I have thought a lot about children over time. It’s sort of hard not to. You go to the grocery store and you see- children. You go home (and if you have any younger siblings) you see- more children. You go to church and you see- children. 😉 I suppose you’re seeing the point here. There’s no escaping children, like it or not. The point of this post is not to give you tips on children (um- what would I know about that?), it’s to talk about my thoughts on children and give a Biblical perspective on them. I see the real need for this kind of post (even though I won’t say anything new) because it seems many people see children as an inconvenience these days.

Let’s get started…

I get accused of not liking children.

There, I said it. Why? Oh, there are several reasons. I am rarely the one you see holding the babies at church. I am rarely the one you see holding babies at all. There is a reason for that, however. EVERYONE WANTS TO HOLD THE BABIES. There is generally a long line. I am not the assertive one when it comes to holding or playing with children. Another reason is that I am not very gentle or patient with my siblings. The truth is- I’m not. I struggle rather a lot with being a kind big sister. But that doesn’t mean I don’t like children. Anyone with siblings probably knows that there is a big difference between YOUR relationship with YOUR siblings- and your relationship with other children.

I like children. (my secret is out…ahhhh! 🙂 )

It’s true I am not always jumping out of my socks when told a baby is ready to be held. But I find that with certain children I experience much more of a connection than with others. A young couple from church has just made the decision to foster three little children. A four-year-old little girl, a three-year-old little boy, and a one-year-old baby boy. The catch? The two oldest have autism (and the baby boy likely has it as well). When the couple announced their decision to DCS- the workers there showed surprise. The reason? No one had wanted to foster care for them because it was a difficult situation. The four-year-old and I played together on Sunday. Her name is Lyla (I also have a cousin named Lyla, random fact.). She chattered on the whole time and we just played together. She has a pretty severe case of autism and barely eats at all. She can’t really talk yet either. Every few minutes she’ll repeat a word if you say one. But she doesn’t communicate fluently as other children her age probably could.

This poses a question. Is Lyla less precious than other children?

No.

Children in general are a blessing. The Bible says they are.

IMG_3868.JPG

 

Possibly one of my favorite Bible ‘stories’ (they’re true, so I don’t quite get why we call them stories exactly.) is the story of Christ laying His hands on the children of some of the Jewish parents. The disciples wanted to push them away- but Christ actually rebuked them for it!

“Then children were brought to him that he might lay his hands on them and pray. The disciples rebuked the people, but Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.” And he laid his hands on them and went away.”

~Matthew 19:13-15

Children are the future of this generation. More specifically- they are the future of the church. They are blessings. Christ (in many places in scripture) showed that he loved them. If Christ loved children, how can I do any less?

~Emmaline

 

 

 

Author:

Hi! I am interested in doing art to give glory to God. I love to draw, write, and am hoping to become a professional photographer in the future. Thank you for your interest. Blessings, ~Emmaline

Leave a Reply

