Thoughtful| “Forgiveness”

IMG_3228.JPG

This post is one that’s been set rather immediately on my mind because of some things that have been going on in my life.

This isn’t a post of self-pity.

This isn’t a post telling you it’s all someone else’s fault.

This isn’t a post to tell you if you forgive someone they’ll be automatically changed.

Sometimes life seems like those broken pieces of glass. Getting broken is painful. Being sinned against (and sinning against someone else) hurts. There isn’t an easy fix all the time. Not every relationship can be fixed by simply setting up a day, meeting,

and

T A L K I N G   IT  OUT.

People will probably be bitter, have scars, and just be hurt in general. Forgiving someone isn’t just saying you’re sorry something happened. It’s much more difficult than that. If it was that easy, probably no one would have any problem with saying it. True forgiveness is HARD and takes a big dose of grace and humility. Asking forgiveness takes a pride-smashin’ session. And forgiving someone? It takes exactly the same.

forgiveness

For a while, I was feeling pretty comfortable with life (probably a bad sign). There were maybe a few small arguments once in a while…nothing major though. Then, out of the blue to me (also probably a bad sign) things starting coming up. I ended up hurt. There was a lot of emotional taxation. There still is. I was also angry. I didn’t understand why it was happening to me, or what I has done wrong in the particular situation. But I can already see it being used for good. It hurts, it’s maybe very inconvenient, and it makes me sad–but God has been drawing me nearer to Him through it.

Motivation for forgiving others…

“Why should I forgive someone (especially if they don’t even ASK forgiveness) ?” that question was going around in my head.  At one point, someone asked me if I hated them and if I didn’t, why didn’t I? I was so tempted to just run off feeling even more hurt. But in that moment someone else told me to ‘start with the obvious’. Now, that probably doesn’t make much sense, but thankfully- I knew just what was meant. The person I was dealing with was a ______ in Christ. Christ had forgiven them with His blood- just the same as He’d saved me. I had no right, absolutely none- to hate the person. Yes, I was hurt. But I have been commanded to love, not to hate.

“Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”

~Ephesians 4:32, ESV.

You have every reason to love, and NO REASON to hate. Especially someone who is your brother or sister in Christ. If I could remember that every time I wronged someone or was wronged- there would be a huge forgiveness party! We would all be asking forgiveness.

WE HAVE EVERY MOTIVATION IN CHRIST.

~Emmaline

One thought on “Thoughtful| “Forgiveness”

Leave a Reply

