WIRW # 7.

Welcome once again, What I Read Wednesday!

People had begun to think I don’t read anything anymore…but the honest truth is I just haven’t been posting what I’ve been reading. I just decided to be selective and review the last three books in the Love Comes Softly series. They focus on Belinda Davis, Clark and Marty’s daughter. (Oh, if you haven’t read the rest of the series- you should probably do that first–but I would say you can just pick up the three of these as well.)

 

Love’s Unfolding Dream

love comes softly series

By Janette Oke

My rating- 5 stars

unfolding

This book was such a fun piece to read. I have to say, I really loved it. It was able to make me feel strongly with and for the characters. There were plenty of things in it that kept me engaged. One thing about is the fact that this focuses on her 12-16 years. That directly identifies it with the teen girl crowd. I thought it was enjoyable, sad, happy, and humorous all at once.

I liked…

//the plot. I thought it was well developed. There were plenty of characters to like or dislike and some very heart-rending things occurred as well.

//the family aspect. This whole series has family stamped on it. I especially love how Belinda and Marty are so close to each other. I love their mother-daughter relationship.

//the characters. You can’t escape this one! They’re always going to be the ones you like and don’t like. I love Belinda, Marty, Clark, Luke, Drew, and yep. Those are my favorites.

//the spiritual aspect. I always like when a book is faith-driven. This series is pretty faith-driven the whole time. There are some aspects of their theology I don’t agree with, but in principle they do stress the love of God to His children.

//the ‘rivalry’ and tension between family. Yes, there’s some of this too. They do get upset with each other from time to time- just like a real family. I won’t spoil it, but I’ll tell you, it’s interesting.

//the ending. Wait for it, wait for it…the entire book. Okay, not really. But I like the ending because it’s kinda’ nice after the conflict in the book. 😀

 

Love Takes Wing

love come softly series

By Janette Oke

My rating- 4.5 stars

wing.jpg

This book picks up a few years after Love’s Unfolding Dream. It is a little cliff-hangering from the last book, too. They give you the impression something’s going to happen at the end of LUD, and then they stick you here scrambling to figure out what happened. And I’ll just warn you, you’d best be prepared for some waiting. Because you’re going to be waiting pretty much the WHOLE book to hear ANYTHING at all. It plain confused me. I was sitting reading and kept interrupting my sister: “Hannah, what in the world is going on here? Why isn’t so-and-so in the story?” I honestly almost threw the book down at that point. But I picked it back up, and I’m so glad I did.

I liked…

//the expansion of nursing. If you’ve gotten this far or read any of the synopsis-es, you’ll know Belinda wants to be a nurse. Well, her nursing will take her places in this book.

//Belinda’s continual struggle. Growing up is HARD. And Belinda always has the struggle accompanied with that. I think she experiences the same highs and lows of the Christian life that I do, in some ways. And I think it’s identifiable.

//Mrs. Stafford-Smythe. I love her. She’s an older lady with spunk. I like how Belinda and her relationship gets closer, and I love how she’s always so perky and funny.

Sadness…

//the cliffhanger from LUD. This nearly made me drop the book. I would encourage you to persevere though- it’s worth it!

//the way Belinda treats some of the young men. It’s not necessarily bad- I just wish she would have sent them packing long ago instead of going out with any of them at all. Oh, well. She learns.

//the removal of characters you’ve gotten to know. People leave, people marry, people disappear! Makes me sad. 😦  😥

 

Love Finds A Home

loves comes softly series

By Janette Oke

My rating- 5 stars

home.jpg

The exciting conclusion! I LOVE this book! Things start to speed up in this book, loose ends get tied up, fun things happen…heartwarming. 😉

// the plot.

// the look at Boston from a bigger angle. I love all the comparison between city vs. country. It’s an interesting thing to look at.

//the thingy that happens in the middle. You will be surprised…maybe even as surprised as Belinda was? 😀

//the other thingy that happens… uh-huh. Several things. (I am really trying not to spoil things for ya’ here).

//the continued faith. Belinda really begins realizing just how important faith is in this book. You can really see her clinging to Him in this one.

//gratification. Belinda gets a happy ending (of a sort)–and I love how you see in the book that romance won’t ultimately satisfy you. Rather, it’s God who can make you delight in Him alone.

*Sorry…but it’s hard to write a review without spoiling something. I keep wanting to say “I liked that THIS happened.” -so I’ll just say I loved the book(s) aaannnd the ending to this book.

~Emmaline

p.s. While I do like SOME of the movies made of Janette Oke’s Love Comes Softly series–I am extremely dissatisfied with the later ones. Especially the later ones with Missie, and the ones that describe Belinda. For one, Belinda isn’t even an orphan–she’s Clark and Marty’s youngest daughter! And a minor detail…Belinda’s hair isn’t brown, it’s blond. Another thing: Willie, Missie’s husband–does NOT die either. And neither does Belinda’s husband! Sorry guys. Rant over. Just wanted to make sure y’all knew what I thought in regards to that. Hint to producers: include the author in your productions. 😀 It helps.

3 thoughts on “WIRW # 7.

  1. I have just written my first Christian Romance novel called Twiceborn that is set in 16th century France at the beautiful Palace of Versailles. I have a free chapter available on my website https://www.jprobinsonbooks.com/. Would it be possible for you to read it and email me any feedback?

    1. Hi JP Robinson,

      I would love to read the chapter, and thank you for the request. Your book looks very interesting, and the setting sounds intriguing.

      *Emma

Leave a Reply

