BHBR| Beloved Hope

Well lookie here! It’s my monthly review for Bethany House. Ever since I read and reviewed Treasured Grace I had hoped I would get to review this book (and I want to review the rest of the series too!).

 Beloved Hope

Heart of the Frontier Book #2.

By Tracie Peterson

My rating- 5 stars

bh.jpg

I love this sequel!

I am absolutely in love with this series so far. I love the prairie setting and the characters. I was happy to see that Tracie also included characters from Treasured Grace (and they were a pretty big part of it, in fact!).

To me this story is filled with journeys.

Hope’s journey, Grace’s continuing journey, Mercy’s journey (I loved how we get a view of her before her story comes out!), Lance’s journey, etc.

When I was done I had a moment of WOW. We went from anger, pain, misery, bitterness–to sweet, loving, trusting in God. This is so amazing. But let’s get a little specific here…

Hope is a lovely character

In the first book we see her as somewhat fickle and flighty. With her string of suitors and her flirtatious mannerisms. But wow! Character development, people.

She’s gone through a lot (read the other book for that) and it shows. I am glad I got to peek into her story as I identified more with her than Grace 😉 .

Re-visitation of old characters

I love when people use their old characters. It’s not so much reusing them as revisiting them. Alex, Grace, Mercy, and other characters return.

Intro to Mercy

Mercy is the sister who seeks education. You have Grace–the healer, Hope the romantic, and now Mercy the learner. I fully expect her to find someone when she goes for school but…for now she’s single. 😉 She’s also very young at the moment. (but prairie days were different)

One thing I like about her is how she doesn’t just go with the flow and marry one of those random proposal guys. (there’s a shortage of woman and plenty of men who need-want wives 😆 .) There are several jerks where they live btw so expect it.

She has dreams of her own, and yet she’s willing to conform her dreams to God’s will. Can’t wait for Cherished Mercy.

And then there’s Lance…

I wasn’t expecting much of a link with the main dude and the first book, so I was surprised when one occurred. This story is told in about the same perspective style as Treasured Grace. It switches from Hope to Lance on a regular basis.

I love the development between Lance and Alex. I am not going to spoil anything that the synopsis wouldn’t spoil so no more details. Just know I liked it. 😉

One part is ermmmmm…

When we get there…there’s a part right after someone gets married where I think it went borderline too close. I didn’t personally feel very comfortable at how close we got to ‘too much’. Basically, it was there to show how someone overcame their difficult past–but I think it could’ve been shown in other less suggestive ways.

 

 

Otherwise, I loved it! You should read it. Just read Treasured Grace first (book one). 😀

Emmaline Lucille (1)

Note: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions here expressed are my own. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

